Fees

California Notary Fees

California Notary Fees

Maximum California notary fees are governed by the Secretary of State. Individual notaries may also charge additional fees to cover travel, parking, the printing of documents, waiting for clients to show up, and other legitimate job-related expenses. Mobile notary fees vary, so shop around!

Signature Fees

$15 Acknowledgment (per signature)

$15 Jurat (per signature)

Assembly Bill No. 2217
As of January 1, 2017, California maximum allowable notary fees were raised to $15 per acknowledgment or jurat.

Multiple Signature Discount

$25 – Two signers, same document ($5 discount)

$35 – Three signers, same document ($10 discount)

Mobile Service Fee

$25 – Covers up to 50 miles round trip during normal business hours (9am to 5pm)

$1 per mile (above 50 miles)

After Hours Fee

$25 – Outside normal business hours (9am to 5pm)

Weekend Fee

$25 – Waived if appointment booked in advance

Plan Ahead and Save!
If you schedule a weekend appointment ahead of time, normal weekday fees will apply.

Wait Fee

Grace period: 15 minutes

$1 per minute thereafter (if notified)

If you’re more than 15 minutes late for an agreed upon appointment and don’t call or text, the notary will depart the meeting place.

Loan Signing Fees

$125 – Covers one signer for one set of loan documents, travel (up to 50 miles round trip), document preparation, notarization, FedEx/UPS drop-off

$25 – Each additional signer

$75 – Additional set of loan documents at same signing

$25 – Printing eDocs (per set)

Living Trust Fees

$100 – Covers one signer for one set of living trust documents (including multiple deeds), travel (up to 50 miles round trip), notarization, witnessing signatures

$25 – Each additional signer

If there are only a few notary certificates required, regular signature and mobile fees will apply. You will pay whichever rate is lower.

Witness Fee

$25 – Witness will accompany notary to appointment

Returned Check Fee

$35 – This covers our bank’s ISF (insufficient funds) fee

Cancellation Fee

$25 – A nominal cancellation fee is due and payable if a signer is physically unable to sign, or refuses to sign after notary arrives.

California Notary Fees

Courtesies

2017 Notary Public Handbook (Secretary of State)

Assembly Bill No. 2217 (California State Legislature)

California State Capitol Building photograph by sarangib.

California State Seal photograph by Bayscholar.

Explore Our Site

California Notary FeesCalifornia Notary FeesCalifornia Notary Fees

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail